When a drawing becomes a proper art piece.

A long while ago, when I was in a job that gave me a lot of time to draw, I did a few full page drawings that, at the time, I was considering as ‘Art Pieces’. Obviously they were just black and white drawings, done with a black biro (no fancy pens back then) and although they were elaborate they were nothing anyone would pay much (if any) money for (this is what I assume, at least).

I had mentioned that I’d love to see one of them as a proper art piece a few times over the years that Jenny (the love of my life, who is now my wife) and I had been together but never expected us to have time to actually do it. But then, a little less long ago, perhaps a year or so, one of these ‘pieces’ was given to me for Christmas from Jenny.  But with a few significant differences! She had made it a proper art piece. =)

Here’s the original:

It's pretty rough, but I loved the concept.

It's pretty rough, but I loved the concept.

Jenny had very much improved on my efforts. This new version of my art piece was mixed media, incorporating bits of a broken mirror and such like! It was in full colour and much neater but in all other respects was exactly as I had originally conceived it! What wonderfulness was this!? What an insanely brilliant gift, and I had no idea it was coming. She had managed to do it entirely in secret, while I was at work. I never saw an unexplained splat of paint or anything.  What a great surprise it was. Here you go, have a look:

Not the greatest photo. But alas...

Not the greatest photo. But alas...

It now hangs proudly in our kitchen, for all and anyone to see (anyone who comes round at least).

It seems quite happy on the wall here.

It seems quite happy on the wall here.

I just thought I should share it with more people y’know? As I now have a blog it seemed an all to obvious way of doing so. I hope you enjoyed it. =)

That’s it for today, hope your all well.

Much love to you all,

Joe

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “When a drawing becomes a proper art piece.”

  1. Jenny’s Amazing Gifts – Part 1 « To illustrate my point Says:

    […] as Jenny has just pointed out, I actually sort of started this series a few weeks ago with this post. So the second thing I’m going to show you is the amazing wallet she made me a few years […]

Leave a Reply

