Designing my own buttons

Hello everyone!

I’ve decided I should design my own buttons for my side bar, so that my blog can be even more personalised. =D So I got to work drawing some ideas a few days ago and I came up with some good ones I think. You might have already noticed, but if you haven’t then take a look over to the right hand side of this text and you will see my wonderful new buttons or whatever it is people call them.

I personally think they look great and I’m so pleased with how they’ve turned out. I was going to do a poll (me and my polls =P) to help pick which ones I should use from the ideas I had. Instead of that though, I just went ahead and chose them myself (I couldn’t wait for you all to vote before I put them up!) and got them onto my side bar the first chance I got.

I started off drawing lots by hand on an A4 sheet of paper.

They started off quite rough...

They started off quite rough...

I then scanned that in and got it into photoshop to cut them out and size them correctly. I downloaded one of the Folksy buttons (that they offer on their site) to get an idea of size, made it a bit bigger (as the drawings could barely be seen so small) and then got to work tidying them up.

I already had favourites and Jenny helped me make the final decisions. You can see what I chose at the side (note that the computer in the folksy button actually has a screenshot of the folksy front page on the screen).

Here are the others that didn’t make the cut, and feel free to let me know if you disagree with my final choices.

This was my second favourite Twitter button

This was my second favourite Twitter button

I didn't want to suggest that I'd be afraid of you if you followed me so this was out of the question.

I didn't want to suggest that I'd be afraid of you if you followed me so this was out of the question.

This was my original idea for this button, but the other seemed funnier.

This was my original idea for this button, but the other seemed funnier.

The way that I got my own pictures to work as buttons is by firstly uploading the images (as .png files) to my webspace. Then I just changed the image links in the html for the buttons I already had on my sidebar, and otherwise kept it mostly the same. It was really much easier than I was expecting! (if that was all jibberish, get in touch and I’ll try and explain more clearly)

Anyway, that’s all for today kids. Thanks very much for reading and I do hope you are all well.

Love to you all,

Joe

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Designing my own buttons”

  1. MochiPan Says:

    hahaha…. sorry I am still giggling at your pics. I know this is going to throw a spanner in the works, but I think the twitter one and the RSS one that you didn’t pick are funnier!! But then, my sense of humour might be a bit darker and more twisted than the average person I guess! I too made blog buttons, it’s fun, isn’t it? And it definitely makes the blog look more personalised and generally way cooler… yay for us!

  2. Glamglass Says:

    Great work and very funny!! Love the way you have personalised your blog button and thanks for giving us the tutorial on how to do it!!

Leave a Reply

