Theme Music Competition

Take a dip

Will you?

Hello there everyone,

I had an idea the other day for a awesome competition to run on this blog.

It all started with me thinking of a great question to ask you all. It’s a question I’ve asked of myself at various times during my life so far. It’s a question that I doubt is very original really. But that doesn’t change the fact, my friends, that it is a great question. And a simple one.

Wouldn’t it be cool if we all had our own theme tune?

I have often gone through in my head all the great ideas of songs that would be brilliant theme tunes. I’ve pondered for hours just what I would ultimately choose if it I was ever actually asked.

But the more pressing question is – What, dear reader, would your’s be?

Which leads me to the competition! To enter is simple – I want to hear your ideas (with some form of justification please, however vague) for what your theme tunes would be. I will then use my wonderful mindbag to decide which is the most creative, amusing or brilliant. Then the person I choose will win a lovely prize. Obviously part of the prize will be being featured on my blog when I announce the winner (possibly in some kind of song – which you won’t want to miss I can tell you), and the other part of the prize will be a card of any drawing you like from the array of them in the gallery on my website or if you don’t have time for that sort of thing – I’ll pick one for you.

I will announce the winner whenever I see fit (that’ll annoy Haptree with her Giveaway HQ. No specifics for you!) which will give me time to work on the announcement song.

I know, I know – you’re brains are already running away with the sheer possibilities, and I bet you’re coming up with some corkers even now. So get commenting and make sure they’re good otherwise there will be trouble!

Love to you all (and happy new year!)

Joe

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Theme Music Competition”

  1. Leanne Says:

    Now you said it had to be in your shop, but you didn’t specify whether or not it had to be for sale:) My favourite is 39 years experience because a) that’s my husband all over and b) that’s my husband all over.

    If you’re asking about theme music a stone’s throw from Christmas then mine would be the theme tune from Benny Hill, not sure I could listen to that playing in my head every single day for the rest of my life, but then again I’m not really sure there is one song I could happily listen to. Benny Hill seems appropriate, Benny Hill it is!

    Final answer, yup, definitely!

  2. danielle clarke Says:

    hmmmm love this…..it has lead me to think long and hard…I love music, I’v e never really pondered on what it would be like to have my own theme tune so this is very interesting!

    now it is quite usual that when people hear the name of my shop they starting singing that god awful..nelli the elephant to me…very very annoying and not in the least bit amusing!
    so that ones out…

    as I percieve myself to be a little bit eccentric..(although acknowledging it probably means I’m not! )and hideously patriotic, I could quite happily match that kiddy royal brittania theme tune to me…..you know the one..’with Marmalade and Jam’ yep thats it, I could see that playing in an out of tune trumpet kind of way when you click on my shop!

    Can’t wait to read others ramblings x

  3. haptree Says:

    Adding to Giveaway HQ! thanks for submitting it Joe – what a great giveaway.

    Now for the song, well when I was just a little girl, I asked my mother, what will I be? Will I be pretty, will I be rich? Here’s what she said to me… Que sera sera!!!!!!!! Now continue singing the same verse and chorus, louder and louder until it sounds more sex pistols than Doris day – it’s very theraputic

    I’m no Doris Day, but when I sing this song at the top of my voice nothing can touch me! Not screaming kids in the back of the car or parking fines or letters from the bank… sometimes you just have to get on with it and be blindly optimistic.

    I also like the Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves, but I can’t sing that so well :o)

  4. Nichola Pitt Says:

    The theme tune to my life would be the theme music from BOD (the children’s tv programme) and I am hoping that as youthful as you are Joe, you will know what door I’m hammering on. If not then – Google!

    Anyways, why BOD? Well, apart from Derek Griffiths being a complete creative genius, I like to think the music is somewhat like myself. It’s very optimistic, complex, many layered, catchy, and down right irritating at times. You just can’t get it out of your head, and you can’t get rid of me.

    BOD. It’s just happy. And life should always be happy.

  5. Sharon Hodgson Says:

    Joe, a quick one as you’ve just said you’re going to announce a winner on Twitter…

    Two TV programme theme tunes get me all excited so maybe I could combine them into one just for me? Gardeners’ World and Dr Who (just the ‘wah oooo’ bit really). A good combination, no?

    Sharon x

Leave a Reply

