Joe Hurry Creations’ Genius Occupations

Hello again everyone,

Today we’re revisiting one of my lovely new features – Joe Hurry Creations’ Genius Occupations. I’ve found you guys a really cool one and I think you’ll be pleased you visited. Let’s begin, shall we?

scrap metal sculpture

High up in the American Northeast, in a town called North Freedom, Wisconsin, there is a man called Tom Avery. He also goes by the name Dr. Evermore and he is responsible for a scrap-metal sculpture known as The Forevertron, which is the biggest  scrap-metal sculpture in the world. Weighing in at over 300 tons (320 to be exact) this amazing structure climbs 50 feet in the air and stretches out to 120 feet along the ground.

amazing recycled sculpture

As the owner of a salvage business, he began turning his talents to this fantastic creation and after many many years (26 of them I believe) he has one of the coolest free attractions I ever did hear of. The place is now littered with (hah!) hundreds of sculptures of varying size, from waist high to 20+ feet tall. There’s the most amazing bird band which is probably my favourite part I’ve seen so far, with 70 different bird/instrument hybrid creatures.

recycled sculpture

Aren't they just fantastic? Click the image to see them in more detail.

Tom is especially cool because he doesn’t use sketches, blueprints or calculations to build these creations. He just builds them and manages to make them stand up safely and happily (even when they weigh 20 tonnes or more). recycled birds

The only bad thing about this place is that it’s so very far away and while you may have a chance to go (and you really should if you do) I’m probably not going to.sculpture chimes

Now, that’s not to imply stuff like ‘good things never happen to me’ or ‘I’m so poor I won’t ever be able afford it’. I’m not a whiny little b*tch so that’s certainly not what I’m trying to do. Basically I don’t have a passport right now, and I’ve got a baby on the way and while I’d love to go to this place, I don’t really want to have to go to America at all. Here’s one more picture:

scrap metal art

Either way, my respect goes to this fantastic individual and his amazing creation. Once again, I think he has created a truly genius occupation.

See you all again soon,

Thanks for coming,

Joe

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Joe Hurry Creations’ Genius Occupations”

  1. averilpam Says:

    They are amazing!

Leave a Reply

